top of page
  • Writer's pictureEveline

Basilica visit tips & what NOT to do




Hey guys! So following after my latest blog post about the beach visit, we are not off to see the famous Basilica!

After I added a bruise to my beauty collection, we decided to finally go and see the famous Notre Dame Basilica on top of the mountain.


There was a few ways to get there (any of which a normal person would choose, except the last one):

1. The easiest one - take a little tourist 'train' from the Vieux Port (take the same train back) 2. Walk up the steps (there are probably over a couple thousand steps 3. Take a bus 4. Take the rentable kick scooters


If you are like me, you will also think that scooter-hire is a great idea. Please, dear friend, do not do that, unless you weight less than an average 12 year old child - you WILL have to kick the scooter up the steep mountain at some point, when it will completely give up on you and basically let you know that this either was not built for going up the hill or you simply weight too much. To add onto this, no one told us how far away and how steep the mountain actually was before we set off to get up there. We thought, the electric scooter will be enough to carry us up. Do not be fooled. The trip is probably around 30mins, which is absolutely fine, because in the beginning you are literally just standing straight, enjoying the breeze in your hair, whilst the electricity is doing all the work. However the closer you get to the top, the steeper and the narrower the streets get. Oh and did I mention, there is a constant traffic flow. It felt like it's the main road to the one and only shop in the village. Except it is not.


I got stuck in this tiny street with traffic in front of me and behind. The cars seem to all be 4x4 which also did not help. But the topper for me was the giant bus behind trying to take me over. You would think 'why can't you get on the pavement?'. Hold on. The pavement is also so narrow that I am not certain I could walk there, let alone kick the scooter. At this point I decided I will stop there, drag the scooter on the pavement and wait for the cars to go, then resume trying to move again. So I stopped on the little turn to get into this tiny side street. I assumed that none of those cars will go there, as everyone is going straight. The weight of the scooter started dragging me down hill. There I was, staggering backwards trying not to fall and tumble down the hill like some incapable joke of an adult, who thought a scooter will be a great idea.


Oh how wrong was I about the cars taking the main route. The bus, thank God, went straight, but the Range Rover behind my back of course had to turn onto the road, where I was currently battling my scooter, trying to stay upright. The driver was laughing hysterically, while I finally managed to move out of his way and onto the safety of the pavement.

A few meters up the hill, I ditched the scooter and decided I would rather walk up the remaining steps than go through the same palava again.

One of the gorgeous narrow streets that lead to the top

All the jokes aside, be prepared for the most breathtaking panoramic 360 views of Marseille!

Hope you had some fun reading my story from Marseille, I promise - this is the last one haha! Love, Eveline x

46 views
bottom of page