top of page
  • Writer's pictureEveline

Morocco - 7 false presumptions

Afternoon lovely readers, I am now back from Marrakech and oh dear... I really wish I could have stayed there so much longer!


Here I want to share all the false presumptions about travelling to Morocco and tell the truth about what its like. I will be focusing on Marrakesh and the souks. Please bare in mind, this is my story and my experience. Me and my partner took a trip into Marrakech city centre with another couple we met in our hotel, with no guide. And we had the BEST time.


Marrakech souks

 

Before travelling to Morocco I have read many different blogs and websites to see what are the things I should know before travelling there. And I'm not going to lie - it scared me. All the things I have read made me feel uneasy about my decision to travel there, I was beginning to doubt whether it was a good idea. I don't want you guys to go through the same thing, so here are all the things I have read about and what it actually is like!


 

Do NOT believe the negative things you read

It seems that everything I read about Morocco prior to travelling was trying to make me not go there. Do not believe the negativity.

1. Pickpockets and thieves

Wherever you go in the world, in any big city there are pickpockets and thieves around you. Criminals target tourists because they are vulnerable. Distracted by the things you want to see, unfamiliar with the culture and of course the language barrier doesn't help. However, it is no more dangerous in Marrakech than it is in Paris. If I am honest, I have definitely felt more intimidated and unsafe in Paris than Marrakech. No one tried to grab my bag, no one tried to deceive us.



Outfit for Marrakech souks

2.0 What to wear?

Everyone seems to think that travelling females must wear long dresses, cover their shoulders and not expose to much skin. Men are advised to not wear shorts. That is not exactly correct. You may wear whatever you like, no one really cares that much. Locals are used to tourists visiting and they do not expect you to be dressed in a certain manner. Walking through the city I have seen many girls wearing short dresses, shorts, tops that show off shoulders or even cleavage. No one seemed to stare at them or comment on the choice of clothing.

You are only advised to cover yourself to respect the culture and the religion, but to be honest I don't think anyone is actually offended by what we wear.


2.1 Hair colour

Every online blog I read about blondes travelling through Morocco, scared me into thinking that I will get lots of unwanted attention and harassment. As a blonde girl, I can also tell you, that the colour of your hair does not bother Moroccan's. They don't seem bothered what colour hair you have. I did not receive any comments targetting my hair colour. No unnecessary attention or hassling due to my appearance.



3. What do Moroccan's wear?

Don't expect everyone to wear djellaba (traditional Moroccan clothing). Moroccans are just like everyone else in the world. 75% wear the same clothes that we do, follow somilsr fashion to us. Some women wear burkas, only a few males wear djellaba though. Mostly you will see men in jeans, t-shirt and sliders or trainers, and women in long dresses, sometimes, but relatively rarely - hijab.



4. Taking photos

After reading all kinds of horror stories online I was so scared to takes pictures in Marrakech that I missed half of the beautiful souks. Do NOT be scared to take photos. Moroccan's are well aware tourists come to souks and take photos. Those who don't want to be photographed will move out of the way anyways. Of course if you want to take a picture of a specific person - ask.


BUT If you take a photo/video of the performers, they will ask you to pay. Don't feel obliged though, if you have no change - just walk away.


4.1 Drones

I don't think I have to mention this, but just in case you are planning to take your drone over to Morocco (for whatever reason that may be), be ware that it is against the law to do so. Your drone will be taken away from you the moment you arrive to Morocco if not earlier. If caught flying one, according to online sites you may even find yourself in a prison cell.


5. Moroccan's are helpful, don't be scared to ask for directions

Don't believe the common misconception that everyone in Morocco is trying to steal your money. Moroccan's are actually very welcoming, helpful people. We were trying to find the food stalls in souks, when we were approached by an old man wearing djellaba. He was the sweetest, kindest soul I’ve ever met. So smiley and so helpful. He took us into the old part of souks, showed us the best shops and had our backs when we didn't want to buy something.

When we finally asked him to take us back to the square, as we had a hotel taxi picking us up, he did not ask us for money, but he was so sweet to us that we gave him around 200 dirhams for his help. Win win!

5.1 Do not waste your money on guides.

It is NOT dangerous to go into Marrakech on your own by any means, do not believe what your travel agency will tell you. It is simply a sales tactic (our hotel staff were nice to tell us this and not try to take money).


5.2 Phone usage

If you are anything like me, you will think 'I don't need a guide, I will use my phone'. Well my friend let me stop you there. Firstly, your maps will not have every street in Marrakech, especially when it comes to souks and secondly, data in Morocco costs a fortune. My own provider (EE) sent me a message saying it will cost me £5 for 8MB per DAY, £2 per minute to call or receive a call and 60p to send a text. So believe me when I say you won't use your phone. You will, however have fun doing it old school way! Reading about it, getting a map out and using that, or just getting lost in the souks like we did, knowing that eventually we will come out anyways!


(swipe to see our lovely old man guide chatting away with my other half)


6. Hackling is actually fun!

Don't be intimidated by hackling, it is actually fun! Everyone in Morocco expects you to hackle. It is just their culture and tradition to do so. Just know when someone gives you a price, divide it by three and offer that.


7. Hugging and kissing

After reading blogs online I was scared that I won't be able to hug my partner or hold his hand in public. I've even read stories that Moroccan's frown upon unmarried couples living together/kissing etc. I guess if you are eating each other in public, people might look at you. But wouldn't they do the same back here, in England?

Do NOT be scared and don't believe people saying you can't hug or kiss your partner in public. No one ever had a problem with me holding my partner's hand and no one ever asked if we are married at all. No one cares. Honestly, they don't.

My partner & I

P.s. Marrakech is THE place for designer dupes! Designer bags, sunglasses, shoes, scarves, clothes - anything you can think of, you can get it here. And the dupes are actually really good quality!


 

This is my story. I hope this is helpful to anyone who is planning to go to Morocco! I hope you guys aren't going to be put off by the negative things you read online, and will feel reassured by my story! Morocco is truly an incredible place, I am already planning to go back there next year. What an experience! If you have ever been there, or if you are planning to go and have any questions, suggestions or ANYTHING at all - comment down below, or ping me a message! I'd love to hear from you :) Thank you so much for reading, Eveline x


99 views
bottom of page